AAU – Dep. of Electronic Systems


The Department of Electronic Systems is one of the largest departments at Aalborg University with a total of more than 300 employees. The department is internationally recognized, in particular for its contributions within Information and Communication Technology (ICT).

The research and teaching of the Department of Electronic Systems focus on electrical engineering, and the areas of activity are organized in five sections.

The department’s success – both as an origin of new research and as a basis of many people’s work place – is conditioned by a common set of values. This is based on the fundamental premise that a department is both a professional and a social/organizational frame around technical activities where it is necessary to consciously create a balance between technical challenges and human confidence. Their central values are threefold:

Openness and respect – there has to be room for professional development with respect for motivation and commitment from the individual employee and student.

Innovation and creativity – they have to be at the frontline both professionally and organizationally and always strive to create new knowledge and basis for its implementation in the community.

Visibility and usability – Their knowledge is only valuable if it is useful to the students, our national and international colleagues as well as the community, which depends on the department’s visibility.

Department of Eletronic Systems
Frederik Bajers Vej 7
9220 Aalborg Øst